DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE - CONGRESSIONALLY DIRECTED MEDICAL RESEARCH PROGRAMS

In an effort to facilitate collaborations and speed GWI research, the GWIRP has compiled a list of various research resources produced from our funding. The list displays available resources and contact information. Please contact the PI(s) directly for information and requests.

Clinical Interventions
Award Number PI Intervention Clinicaltrials.gov ID References Trial Status Contact Information

GW060036

Beatrice Golomb

Q10 for Gulf War Veterans

NCT01011348

Golomb BA, Allison M, Koperski S, et al. 2014. Coenzyme Q10 Benefits Symptoms in Gulf War Veterans: Results of a Randomized Double-Blind Study. Neural Comput 26(11): 2594-2651.

Completed

bgolomb@ucsd.edu

GW060048

Julia Golier

A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Crossover Trial of Mifepristone in Gulf War Veterans with Chronic Multisymptom Illness

NCT00691067

Golier JA, Caramanica K, Michaelides AC, Makotkine I, Schmeidler J, Harvey PD, Yehuda R. A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, crossover trial of mifepristone in Gulf War veterans with chronic multisymptom illness. Psychoneuroendocrinology. 2016 Feb; 64:22-30.

Completed

julia.golier@va.gov

GW060044

James Baraniuk

Carnosine Therapy

NCT00810368 and NCT00810225

Baraniuk JN, El-Amin S, and Corey R. 2013. Carnosine treatment for Gulf War Illness: A randomized controlled trial. Glob J Health Sci 5(3):69-81.

Completed

baraniuj@georgetown.edu

GW080059

Lisa Conboy

Acupuncture

NCT01305811

Conboy L, St. John M, and Schnyer R. 2012. The effectiveness of acupuncture in the treatment of Gulf War Illness. Contemp Clin Trials 33(3):557-562.

Completed

lisa_conboy@hms.harvard.edu

GW080064

William Meggs

Naltrexone and Dextromethorphan

NCT02206490

 

Completed

meggsw@ecu.edu

GW093066

David Carpenter

Detoxification Program

NCT01672710

 

Completed

carpent@uamail.albany.edu

GW093043

Ashok Tuteja

Probiotic (VSL#3)

NCT02011542

 

Ongoing

ashok.tuteja@hsc.utah.edu

GW100054

David Rabago

Nasal Irrigation

NCT01700725

Hayer S, Rabago D, Amaza I, et al. 2015. Effectiveness of nasal irrigation for chronic rhinosinusitis and fatigue in patients with Gulf War Illness: Protocol for a randomized controlled trial. Contemp Clin Trials 41:219-226.

Completed

david.rabago@fammed.wisc.edu

GW100068

Yoshio Nakamura

Mind Body Bridging

NCT01543997

Nakamura Y, Tuteja AK, et al. Investigating Clinical Benefits of a Novel Sleep-Focused Mind-Body Program on Gulf War Illness Symptoms: A Randomized Controlled Trial. Psychosomatic Medicine (79), July/August 2017, pp.706-718.

Completed

yn5@utah.edu

GW110054

Julia Golier

intranasal insulin

NCT01802944

 

Ongoing

julia.golier@va.gov

GW130015

Jarred Younger

Botanical Microglia Modulators

NCT02909686

 

Ongoing

younger@uab.edu

GW130022

Peter Bayley

yoga

NCT02378025

 

Ongoing

peter.bayley@va.gov

GW130025

Ronald Bach

prednisone

NCT02506192

 

Ongoing

ronald.bach@va.gov

GW130047

Jon Kaiser

Methylphenidate plus a GWI-Specific Nutrient Formula

NCT02357030

 

Ongoing

j.kaiser@KPAXpharm.com

GW130070

Giulio Pasinetti

flavonoid-rich dietary supplementation

NCT02915237

 

Ongoing

giulio.pasinetti@mssm.edu

GW130093

Jorge Serrador

portable vestibular stimulator

 

 

Ongoing

jorge.serrador@rutgers.edu

GW140069

Rosemary Toomey

D-cycloserine

NCT02983734

 

Ongoing

toomey@bu.edu

GW140074

Ashok Tuteja

low FODMAP diet

NCT02881944

 

Ongoing

ashok.tuteja@hsc.utah.edu

GW140146

Beatrice Golomb

mitochondrial cocktail

NCT02804828

 

Ongoing

bgolomb@ucsd.edu

GW140153

Nancy Klimas

Liposomal Glutathione and Curcumin

NCT02848417

 

Ongoing

nklimas@nova.edu

GW140157

Benjamin Natelson

Vagus nerve stimulation

NCT02791893

 

Ongoing

bnatelson@chpnet.org


sara.toms@mssm.edu

GW150133

Albert Leung

repetitive Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (rTMS)

NCT03030794

 

Ongoing

ayleung@ucsd.edu

GW150060

John Hart

Transcranial Direct Cortical Stimulation (TDCS)

 

 

Pending

jhart@utdallas.edu

Last updated Tuesday, November 7, 2017