Peer Reviewed Medical Research Banner

FY12 Discovery Award

The list of Fiscal Year 2012 Peer Reviewed Medical Research Program Discovery Award applications recommended for funding is for informational purposes only. Identification on this list of applications recommended for funding is not intended to either confer a right to funding nor does it guarantee funding. The award of federal funds to support any of these applications is contingent upon successful negotiations and applicable federal policy.

Institution Principal Investigator Topic Area

Children's Hospital Boston

Alexander Rotenberg


Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center

Xiaonan Han

Inflammatory Bowel Disease

Emory University

Wilbur Lam

Nanomedicine for Drug Delivery Science

Hospital for Special Surgery

Carl Blobel


Loma Linda University

Matilda Sheng

Post-Traumatic Osteoarthritis

Massachusetts General Hospital

Nutan Sharma


Samuel Lunenfeld Research Institute

Marc Grynpas

Osteoporosis and Related Bone Disease

SRI International

Paul Stein


Stony Brook University

Chiara Luberto


University of Alabama at Birmingham

Adrie Steyn


University of Connecticut Health Center

Marc Hansen

Paget's Disease

University of Louisville

Uma Sankar

Osteoporosis and Related Bone Disease

University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, Newark

Purnima Bhanot


University of Miami School of Medicine

Sylvia Daunert

Inflammatory Bowel Disease

University of Michigan

Geoffrey Murphy


University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Liqin Du


University of Utah

Jayant Agarwal

Nanomedicine for Drug Delivery Science